1 September 2014 x Officially Unemployed

Today, I took a leap of faith and left my first job. Unlike the conventional path of having a next job ready, I proceeded to declare myself officially unemployed.

Don’t get me wrong – it’s not that the past three years in the public sector haven’t been rewarding. I got to experience being in the front-line to invite visitors to embrace what our country has to offer; be involved in a world-class mega event and its behind-the-scenes; kickstart an international project which I believed in then (and I still do now). Along the way, I managed to debunk the myth that friendship does not exist in workplaces.

But life has got to be more than chasing deadlines and endless powerpoint presentations.

“The most important thing is to enjoy your life – to be happy – it’s all that matters.”

– Audrey Hepburn

It became clear to me that in order to begin “enjoying” life, I first need look within to uncover the passion that would drive it.

And this is what #ajarminded means to me –  it’s a chance of self-discovery; a path filled with new adventures; an opportunity to try something different.

For the coming year, I aim to document down what I have done – or what I have not – and hopefully when I look back, there’s comfort in knowing this journey has not been in vain.

Leave a Reply

