Tzatziki Dip

Tzatziki will always remind me of Greece, it was where I first had my first taste of the dip and instantly fell in love – both the dip and the country. It had the winning formula, which I realised after googling for the recipe, of all the things I love – yoghurt, cucumber and garlic.

IMG_2713

When I came back from the trip, I told myself I would attempt to recreate it. That was three years ago.

Three years later, I still craved for the dip but refused to pay a hefty price for it. Especially not after googling for the recipe, I didn’t think it was that difficult.

And I was right not to. It was ridiculously easy, even though I may have been a bit over-zealous in adding the garlic, more than the recipe called for. The end product was so good, and so versatile.

IMG_1592

I ate it with my salad, wraps, and even by itself with raw carrots as a dip. But my breath after each time was so bad, vampires would definitely be a mile away from me!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

And that was my taste of Greece again, simple and healthy.

Tzatziki Dip

  • Servings: 3 cups
  • Time: 15mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  1. 1/2 cucumber, peeled
  2. 2 cups Greek yoghurt
  3. 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  4. 1 1/2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  5. Pinch of salt
  6. Pinch of pepper

Directions:

  1. Dice the peeled cucumbers, and get rid of excess juice with clean paper towel to ensure mixture will not be too watery.
  2. Combine the cucumbers, yoghurt, garlic, lemon juice, salt and pepper in a bowl. Mix well.
  3. Refrigerate for at least an hour before serving.

Leave a Reply

