Backstage Cafe

First time I came across this cafe was when D was driving in the area, and I spotted their banner stating they were newly open.

The name caught my attention, and I wondered if the cafe was an integrated space for performing arts & dining. A quick google search told me I was wrong, but it did look like a space which might be worth checking out.

I was in the area making deliveries and had some time to spare while waiting for D to end work. Backstage Cafe came to mind, and I recalled N telling me the cafe had free WiFi, which was perfect for what I needed that day for the online work I was doing.

It took me a while to figure out where it was, being in an industrial area which was foreign to me. And I was so relieved when I finally spotted their sign – was this close to giving up and heading back home.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/afa/76524899/files/2014/12/img_6890.jpg
First thing which came to mind when I stepped in was how spacious the cafe was! It was near empty when I arrived, save for another group of girls which sat at the other end from where I was. Ambience for doing work? Check.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/afa/76524899/files/2014/12/img_6889.jpg
I ordered a cup of flat white, got the WiFi password, and settled down to work.

It was a productive two hours spent at the cafe. Though the coffee wasn’t as rich & full-bodied as I thought it would be, but t’was a nice quiet spot for me to work in while waiting for D to knock off & chauffeur him home.

Perhaps I’ll be back the next time to try their food.

Backstage Cafe
158 Kallang Way
Singapore 349245
6743 6893

Opening hours:
11am โ€“ 9pm
Closed on Sundays

Leave a Reply

